Leave a comment

[Podcast] The Bay and Shazam: Radio Web Shopping

[Update] So, the initial plan was to have a podcast post to share with you this week, but through a lot of research and frustration, I’ve learned that a WordPress.com blog can’t host .mp3 files without paying to upgrade media space nor can I access the html code to embed the player for my podcast. While I will continue to research potential ways to fix this, I will direct you to my podcast host page (using my other blog’s account for now) for the time being so you can at least hear the podcast file I made.

My podcast discusses the partnership between the Hudson’s Bay Company and Shazam, a mobile web app (available on iTunes). This collaboration allows the Bay to market to consumers via the radio, where they would not normally have access to mobile web marketing such as QR codes or video advertisements, by allowing consumers to link to the product being advertised via key words broadcast in the advertisement. To hear my full explanation and analysis, check out my podcast page.

Here is the link I mentioned in my podcast, for anyone who wants to check out the announcement from the Bay (see the last bullet point): http://publicannouncement.ca/post/view/20121108214943@Black-Friday-Arrives-Early-at-The-B

Thanks for listening and reading!

 

Leave a comment